Marie Antoinette window

Another step in the right direction for our big move started last October. We had a few lets at Cedars House so rented a cottage in our favourite part of Cheltenham, the Suffolks for a month. I needed a hair cut and colour so went to Vallender Salon simply because I liked the look of it. I got talking to the owner Jo Vallender and it seemed we had a lot in common, including a passion for Marie Antoinette. I told her that I was looking for a studio/showroom in the area and she showed me an upstairs room which was empty. While I was still there, someone from the Wilson Gallery came in with details of a window display competition to tie in with an exhibition about the icon Audrey Hepburn. The brief was to do a window display inspired by another icon so we immediately decided to collaborate on a “Marie Antoinette” window as I already had an outfit and Jo could make a Marie Antoinette wig. I already had photographer Su Larkins and designer Anthony Lewis Churchill (who just so happened to have designed window displays for Harrods and Fortnum and Mason!) coming to talk about my upcoming Alice in Wonderland inspired exhibition so we tied it in with a live photo shoot in the salon window.

Leave a Reply

